

Report No. 3771

MEMORANDUM

To: Faculty Council of October 24, 2024

From: Liane Catalfo, ChemE 0T8, MEng 1T0

President, Engineering Alumni Network

Date: October 9, 2024

Re: Report of the Engineering Alumni Network (EAN) Awards Committee:

Candidates for the 2024 Engineering Alumni Network Awards; Distinguished Alumni Award, Malcolm McGrath Service Award, Research & Innovation

Award, Rising Star Award

REPORT CLASSIFICATION

This is a routine matter for Council's information. Full details of the awards can be found on the Engineering Alumni Network Awards website.

2024 EAN Award Recipients

Distinguished Alumni Award

Dr. Jeff Karp (ChemE PhD 0T4) is a renowned innovator dedicated to translating scientific discoveries into clinical solutions that directly impact patients. A Professor at Harvard Medical School and the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology, he leads pioneering research in tissue adhesives, bioinspired medical solutions and stem cell therapeutics. He is a globally recognized scientist, authoring over 165 papers, holding 100+ patents and co-founding 12 startups that have raised over \$500 million. Dr. Karp's creativity continues to push boundaries, and he exemplifies how passion and dedication can make a significant difference in the world.

Malcolm McGrath Service Award

Rob West (ChemE 8T1) has made a lasting impact on U of T through his decades-long dedication to community building and mentorship. A former Skule Nite participant, West has mentored every director since, earning him titles like 'Godfather of Skule Nite.' His leadership has maintained important traditions and inspired generations, raising over \$50,000 to support students pursuing extra-curricular activities. His impact extends beyond awards and accolades. His legacy is one of inspiration, mentorship and community-building, reminding us that true success lies not only in personal achievements but in lifting others along the way.

Research & Innovation Award

Dr. Amir Manbachi's (EngSci 0T8, BME MASc 1T0, PhD 1T5) doctoral research led to the creation of Spinesonics Medical Inc., which developed an ultrasound device for spinal surgery, earning him U of T's Inventor of the Year award in 2015. An Associate Professor at John Hopkins University, he mentors students and has authored numerous publications, earning accolades like the Baltimore Business Journal's 40 Under 40 and the 2024 Terasaki Institute's Young Innovator Award. He co-founded HEPIUS Innovation Labs, focusing on next-generation wearable medical devices. He exemplifies the power of following one's dreams and reminds us that innovation knows no bounds.

Rising Star Award

Olugbenga Olubanjo (CivE MASc 1T9) is a visionary leader, driven by a passion for social impact and sustainable development. His company Reeddi Inc., created the Reeddi capsule which provides clean, affordable energy to energy-poor regions and was named one of TIME's Best Inventions of 2021. He served as former Co-Chair of the Massey College Community Service Committee, demonstrating his commitment to community service. His unwavering "why-not" attitude and visionary leadership light the way toward a better future and exemplify the transformative power of an engineering education.

The Committee received zero nominations this year in the category of Honourary Member.

EAN Awards Adjudication Committee

The 2024 Committee comprised the EAN Board Awards Chair (Joelle Javier), EAN Adjudicators (alumni and previous EAN Award recipients; Caprice Boisvert, Paul Cadario, Andrew Forde, Deborah Goodings, Dana Kokoska, Alvin Mok, Shawn Qu), and ex-officio staff members from the Office of Advancement (Sonia De Buglio and Shannon Osborne.