

Report No. 3626

MEMORANDUM

To: Faculty Council of April 11, 2019

From: Professor Emeritus Safwat Zaky

Chair, Engineering Alumni Network Awards Adjudication Committee

Date: March 21, 2019

Re: Report of the Engineering Alumni Network Awards Adjudication Committee:

Candidates for the Induction into the 2019 Engineering Alumni Hall of Distinction, the Engineering Alumni Medal, 2T5 Mid-Career Award, 7T6 Early

Career Award, Malcolm McGrath Award, L.E. Jones Award, and Honourary

Alumni of the EAN

REPORT CLASSIFICATION

This is a routine matter that has been approved by the Executive Committee of the Engineering Alumni Network and is forwarded to Faculty Council for information.

The 2019 awards of the Engineering Alumni Network are awarded to distinguished graduates of the Faculty, recognizing outstanding contributions to the profession and to society and for bringing honour to the University.

1) The following distinguished graduates of the Faculty will be inducted in the Engineering Hall of Distinction:

Deborah Goodings, CivE 7T5

John A. MacDonald, ElecE 7T9

Shawn Qu, MSE PhD 9T5

Bob Simmonds, EngSci 7T5

Jeanette Southwood, ChemE 8T6, ChemE MASc 8T8, Honourary Doctorate 2017

2) The Network's top award, the Engineering Alumni Medal, goes to our distinguished graduate:

Levente Diosady, ChemE 6T6, ChemE MASc 6T8, ChemE PhD 7T2

3) The 2T5 Mid-Career Award goes to our distinguished graduate:

Maryam Shanechi, EngSci 0T4

4) The 7T6 Early-Career Award goes to our distinguished graduate:

Holly Johnson, MechE 1T0

5) The Malcolm McGrath Award goes to our distinguished graduate:

James Courtney, EngSci 6T6, Physics MSc. 1967, Physics PhD 1971, MBA 1985

6) The L.E. (Ted) Jones Award goes to our distinguished graduates:

Robert Bazzocchi, EngSci 1T9 Emma Sexton, IndE 1T9

7) This year, the EAN recognizes a special friend of the Faculty for her outstanding and sustained efforts, enhancing the international reputation of the Faculty and providing excellent learning opportunities for our graduate students. The following colleague will be named an honorary member of the Engineering Alumni Network:

Laura Fujino

8) The membership of this year's Adjudication Committee is as follows:

Professor Safwat Zaky (Chair)
Isi Caulder (Ex-Officio)
Sonia De Buglio (Ex-Officio)
Paul Cadario
David Colcleugh
Kathy Milsom

Alexander Perelgut
Ross Pitman
Dwayne Shirley
Mathew Szeto
Christopher Twigge-Molecey

9) The annual Alumni Awards Gala will be held in the first week of November 2019 at the **Myhal Centre for Engineering Innovation & Entrepreneurship**. Last year, total attendance was over 100 guests.