

Report No. 3592

MEMORANDUM

- To: Faculty Council of April 11, 2018
- From: Professor Emeritus Safwat Zaky Chair, Engineering Alumni Honours & Awards Committee
- Date: March 26, 2018

Re: Report of the Engineering Alumni Honours & Awards Committee 2018

This is a routine matter that has been approved by the Executive Committee of the Engineering Alumni Network and is forwarded to Faculty Council for information.

1) The Committee recommends that the following distinguished graduates of the Faculty be inducted in the Engineering Hall of Distinction:

Alfred Aho, EngPhys 6T3 Janis Chodas, EngSci 7T8, MASc UTIAS 8T0 Bob Howard, IndE 7T2 Brian Kernighan, EngPhys 6T4 Catherine Lacavera, ECE 9T7

2) The Committee recommends that the Engineering Alumni Medal be awarded in 2018 to our distinguished graduate:

Larry Seeley, ChemE 6T6, MASc 6T8, PhD 7T2

3) The Committee recommends that the 2T5 Mid-Career Award be awarded in 2018 to our distinguished graduates:

Alvin Mok, EngSci 0T3

4) The Committee recommends that the 7T6 Early-Career Award be awarded in 2018 to our distinguished graduates:

Huda Idrees, IndE 1T3 Cameron Robertson, EngSci 0T8, UTIAS MASc 0T9

5) The Committee recommends that the Malcolm McGrath Award be awarded in 2018 to our distinguished graduate:

Elias Kyriacou, ChemE 7T6

6) The Committee recommends that the L.E. (Ted) Jones Award be awarded in 2018 to our distinguished graduates:

Reena Cabanilla, ChemE 1T8

7) The current membership of the Committee includes:

Professor Safwat Zaky (Chair) Isi Caulder Sonia De Buglio (Ex-Officio) Diana Facchini Bill Hollings Tahir Janmohamed Sue Joel Eric Matusiak Russ Sutherland John Voss John Walker Nick Walker Barry Westhead

8) The annual Alumni Awards Dinner will be held November 1, 2018 at Hart House. Last year total attendance was 120 people.