

Report No. 3552

MEMORANDUM

- **To**: Faculty Council of April 10, 2017
- From: Professor Safwat Zaky Chair, Engineering Alumni Honours & Awards Committee
- **Date**: March 24, 2017
- Re: Report of the Engineering Alumni Honours & Awards Committee: Candidates for the Induction into the 2017 Engineering Alumni Hall of Distinction, the Engineering Alumni Medal, 2T5 Mid-Career Award, 7T6 Early Career Award, Malcolm McGrath Award and Honourary Member – Engineering Alumni Network Award

REPORT CLASSIFICATION

This is a routine matter that has been approved by the Executive Committee of the Engineering Alumni Network and is forwarded to Faculty Council for information.

1) The Committee recommends that the following distinguished graduates of the Faculty be inducted in the Engineering Hall of Distinction:

Kathy Milsom, CivE 8T3 Rocco Martino, Physics 5T1, MASc 5T2, UTIAS PhD 5T6 Jonathan Rose, EngSci 8T0, ComE MASc 8T2, PhD 8T6 The Honourable Tom Siddon, UTIAS MASc 6T6, PhD 6T9

2) The Committee recommends that the Engineering Alumni Medal be awarded in 2017 to our distinguished graduate:

Not Awarded

3) The Committee recommends that the 2T5 Mid-Career Award be awarded in 2017 to our distinguished graduate:

Tom Chau, EngSci 9T2, ElecE MASc 9T4

4) The Committee recommends that the 7T6 Early-Career Award be awarded in 2017 to our distinguished graduates:

Andrew Gillies, MechE 0T7 Chris Wilmer, EngSci 0T7

5) The Committee recommends that the Malcolm McGrath Award be awarded in 2017 to our distinguished graduate:

Don Andrew, CivE 5T4

6) The Committee recommends that the L.E. (Ted) Jones Award be awarded in 2017 to our distinguished graduates:

Alex Perelgut, EngSci 1T6+PEY Allan Kuan, EngSci 1T4+PEY, CivE MASc 1T7 (expected)

7) The Committee recommends that the Honourary Member – Engineering Alumni Network be awarded to a distinguished non-graduate:

Not Awarded

8) The current membership of the Committee includes:

Professor Safwat Zaky (Chair) Isi Caulder Sonia De Buglio (Ex-Officio) Diana Facchini Bill Hollings Tahir Janmohamed Sue Joel Elias Kyriacou (Ex-Officio) Eric Matusiak Rick Ross Russ Sutherland John Voss John Walker Nick Walker Barry Westhead

8) The annual Alumni Awards Dinner will be held Thursday, November 2, 2017 at the Great Hall, Hart House. Last year's total attendance was 171 people.