

Cristina Amon, Dean

2016-17/09

MEMORANDUM

To:	Chairs and Directors
	Vice Deans and Associate Dean

From: Cristina Amon, Dean

Date: February 16, 2017

Re: Announcement of Robotics Strategic Planning Committee

Robotics activities and initiatives have grown over the past several years across the University of Toronto, both at UofT Engineering (FASE) (e.g. Institute for Robotics & Mechatronics, strategic hires in robotics, EngSci Robotics Engineering Major) and through the Department of Computer Science (e.g. new robotics faculty hires at UTM). It is, therefore, desirable to evaluate these initiatives and consider potential synergies that could be capitalized on moving forward. Accordingly, we have established a Robotics Strategic Planning Committee, comprised of representatives from Engineering and Computer Science, to propose a strategic vision for Robotics at FASE and at UofT, as well as to look at different models of participation and integration with upcoming efforts at UTM.

Terms of Reference

- 1. Create an inventory of existing robotics initiatives and capabilities at the University.
- 2. Make recommendations to better connect and leverage existing initiatives, both within the University and to external partners.
- 3. Recommend new robotics initiatives to be considered for future at the University.
- 4. Provide feedback on (and input to) a proposed plan to focus UofT robotics activities on the UTM campus.

Process

The Committee will seek input from key robotics stakeholders and other interested parties within UofT, the industrial sector and government agencies. A series of questionnaires will be developed to gather information from stakeholders to be consulted.

Timing – February 2017 through May 2017

- 1. Create Committee: February 2017
- 2. Meetings and consultation: February to April 2017
- 3. Draft report: end of May 2017
- 4. Final report: summer 2017

Membership

- Professor Tim Barfoot, (UTIAS) (Co-Chair)
- Professor Goldie Nejat (MIE, Director IRM) (Co-Chair)
- Professor Ravin Balakrishnan (Chair CS)
- Professor Chris Bouwmeester (IBBME)
- Professor Will Cluett (ChemE)
- Professor Sven Dickinson (CS)
- Professor Kamran Esmaeili (CivE)
- Professor Roman Genov (ECE)
- Professor Ben Hatton (MSE)
- Professor Manfredi Maggiore (ECE)
- Professor Angela Schoellig (UTIAS)
- Professor Yu Sun (MIE)